Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search ContactReview Forum Index
A GoldMine Discussion and Support Community

ContactReview Forum Index » GoldMine Legacy » Connection to dbf files from Goldmine 5.5
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
Connection to dbf files from Goldmine 5.5
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 2:29 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Esgrimidor
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Location: Santa Cruz de Tenerife




I am trying to connect with Goldmine via SQL Query.
Only for retrieving data.
I am using the driver command
Provider=MSDASQL.1;Persist Security Info=False;Extended Properties="DSN=dBASE Files;DBQ=Y:\GOLDMINE\AGENCIACOMERCIALPMSL;DefaultDir=Y:\GOLDMINE\AGENCIACOMERCIALPMSL;DriverId=533;MaxBufferSize=2048;PageTimeout=5;"

I need to retrieve in a register some fields and parse to variables to go into autocad 2002.
I suppose I will try with scripts from Sikuli.
But to connect to the goldmine database has many option after I will enjoy.
With the SELECT statement and the clause ORDER BY (I haven't tried yet) I don't know if take advantage of the prior created mdx files by Goldmine.
Take advantage ?
I observed in SQL language the statement : CREATE INDEX
and ORDER BY seems an independant clause not related with existing indexes in Goldmine 5.5
There is any way to take advantage of the existing mdx indexes from Goldmine 5.5 ?

p.d. Goldmine 5.5 is the best program in this world and part of many anothers and I will keep until my death.

Rolling Eyes
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:32 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
DougCastell
GoldMine Guru
Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1639
Location: Los Angeles, CA




Depending on your version of SQL server, you may need a different driver. For 32 bit SQL 2008 or 2005, an approach like this should work for you as long as you turn on ad hoc queries in your SQL environment:

Code:
select * FROM
OPENROWSET('Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0',
'dBase IV;HDR=NO;IMEX=2;Database=C:\Goldmine\Common',
'SELECT * FROM conthist.dbf')

_________________
Doug Castell

GoldMine Sales and Support:
http://www.castellcomputers.com/
office: (310)601-4738
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 9:22 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Esgrimidor
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Location: Santa Cruz de Tenerife




I suppose I don't need SQL Server from Microsoft

I am connecting to my dBASE databases from Goldmine.

I will comment the way I did.

SQL is a language. And Goldmine support it.

Best Regards
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 9:25 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Esgrimidor
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Location: Santa Cruz de Tenerife




DougCastell wrote:
Depending on your version of SQL server, you may need a different driver. For 32 bit SQL 2008 or 2005, an approach like this should work for you as long as you turn on ad hoc queries in your SQL environment:

Code:
select * FROM
OPENROWSET('Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0',
'dBase IV;HDR=NO;IMEX=2;Database=C:\Goldmine\Common',
'SELECT * FROM conthist.dbf')


Please. Try your commands here :

http://www.w3schools.com/sql/default.asp
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 9:38 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
DougCastell
GoldMine Guru
Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1639
Location: Los Angeles, CA




sorry, I don't understand what you're attempting to do.

try this:
http://www.castellcomputers.com/files/factsbacks/535.pdf

_________________
Doug Castell

GoldMine Sales and Support:
http://www.castellcomputers.com/
office: (310)601-4738
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 9:44 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Esgrimidor
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Location: Santa Cruz de Tenerife




Thank Doug.

I'll take a good look and comment.

Best Regards.
here, in canary islands, are 06.00 hours in the a.m. (madrugada vamos)
I was working for a friend in Zamora (Spain) when i see your answer.
Gracias por estar ahí.
Un abrazo
pepe
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

Connection to dbf files from Goldmine 5.5
  ContactReview Forum Index » GoldMine Legacy
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Brought to you by Castell Computers, Doug Castell, Admin
RSS Feed
Powered by phpBB © 2001-2004 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin