Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search ContactReview Forum Index
A GoldMine Discussion and Support Community

ContactReview Forum Index » GoldBox » Search in several contact sets ?
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
Search in several contact sets ?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:39 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Apprentice
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 14




I have goldmine 5.5
Is it possible to search in several contact sets for a record ?

Best Regards
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:26 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
DougCastell
GoldMine Guru
Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1637
Location: Los Angeles, CA




not natively, no. You could issue an SQL query if your contact sets/GoldMine are in SQL (not dBase.)

_________________
Doug Castell

GoldMine Sales and Support:
http://www.castellcomputers.com/
office: (310)601-4738
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 5:28 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Apprentice
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 14




DougCastell wrote:
not natively, no. You could issue an SQL query if your contact sets/GoldMine are in SQL (not dBase.)


Is it possible with Goldbox ?

Any other addon for ancient Goldmine 5.5 ?
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:35 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
DougCastell
GoldMine Guru
Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1637
Location: Los Angeles, CA




You could possibly achieve it, but for every little search, you'd have to entirely reinvent the wheel.

The best thing to do would be to combine the databases and create a filed to indicate the type of record based on which contact set it previously came from.

If you can come up with a valid argument for maintaining multiple contact sets, I'm all ears, but in my experience, it typically boils down to "But, we've always done it this way!" ... which is never a good reason for things...

_________________
Doug Castell

GoldMine Sales and Support:
http://www.castellcomputers.com/
office: (310)601-4738
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:35 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Apprentice
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 14




DougCastell wrote:
You could possibly achieve it, but for every little search, you'd have to entirely reinvent the wheel.

The best thing to do would be to combine the databases and create a filed to indicate the type of record based on which contact set it previously came from.

If you can come up with a valid argument for maintaining multiple contact sets, I'm all ears, but in my experience, it typically boils down to "But, we've always done it this way!" ... which is never a good reason for things...


Doug thanks a lot for your patience.

Some weeks ago I decided to split my contact set in four keys because i was reaching the limit 2 GB .

1.957.707 kb
1.769.978 kb
1.427.398 kb the largest ones.

So I am copying slowly some contacts to the new contacts set and using.

In the future I want to be able to search in the four contact sets using the same goldmine utilitiy.

So I need to know a little about programming in the most easy way (autoit, autohotkey,....)
Or an addon able to do something.

I suppose combine is not useful for me because of the limits dBASE.

I can also make some copies in free open source SQL databases and make proofs.

Nevertheless i am working perfectly well now. So in the future I only need to be faster.

I am not considering update because I use goldmine individually. Goldmine 5.5 had some problems running under windows 10. But I run in virtual machine with no problem.

Really I only have a contact set for proffesional uses. And the other three are knowledge bases....

I will need two hundred years to fill up my main contact set now !
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:51 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Apprentice
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 14




What I will try in the next years is this :

A menu to edit, find/search, add a new record.

All I have to do is let goldmine do the work inside each contact set. I will not reinvent nothing.
This philosophy is difficult with multiple results in searching, but I don't need powerful answers and perhaps with arrays (remembering my old dBASE IV or my Visual dBASE from Borland is something i can get.

I have some scripts in autoit to add registers to goldmine from a txt file using the interaction with goldmine in the most simple way. I remember Goldmine has a lot of possibilities to manage the databases from the outside. But really all the work is done by Goldmine.

I will try to search in Goldmine with Goldmine Search not with any other of the dBASE editors I have.

What do you think ?



Shocked
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:57 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Apprentice
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 14




One idea may be copy the contact set to an SQL environment and search in all fields.

I only need this some times. Able to search in the memo fields.
I can combine everything all the contacts set once a year and use.

I don't need more.

At the present moment I have four shortcuts to goldmine for each contact set.
And the fitth is the old one databases contact set.
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 12:59 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
DougCastell
GoldMine Guru
Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1637
Location: Los Angeles, CA




Unfortunately, I think you're working VERY hard to maintain virtual environments, multiple contact sets, etc. to work within the many constraints of the dBase/GoldMine 5 environment and it's built up numerous roadblocks around you. Continuing with your current environment will only lay the foundation for even more roadblocks.

I suggest that you upgrade to the latest version hosted on SQL. Many of your roadblocks will disappear and you'll have the whole world of SQL development at your disposal.

_________________
Doug Castell

GoldMine Sales and Support:
http://www.castellcomputers.com/
office: (310)601-4738
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 10:50 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Apprentice
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 14




Thanks Doug .

I will consider in the future.
View user's profile Send private message

Search in several contact sets ?
  ContactReview Forum Index » GoldBox
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Brought to you by Castell Computers, Doug Castell, Admin
RSS Feed
Powered by phpBB © 2001-2004 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin