Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search ContactReview Forum Index
A GoldMine Discussion and Support Community

ContactReview Forum Index » GoldMine Legacy » Can I determine a corrupt registry in the goldmine contacts?
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
Can I determine a corrupt registry in the goldmine contacts?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 12:09 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




Can I determine a corrupt registry or field or memo field in the goldmine contact set ?

Specifically in the notes field of the contact1.DBF or contact1.DBT

Best Regards
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:06 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
DougCastell
GoldMine Guru
Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1639
Location: Los Angeles, CA




There's a tool called DBTCHECK out there.

Google it and you'll find downloads, info, etc.

Backup before using it, however, as it's a DOS tool and using it is akin to black magic.

_________________
Doug Castell

GoldMine Sales and Support:
http://www.castellcomputers.com/
office: (310)601-4738
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 6:57 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




HELLO DOUG

I am going to try right now.

I want to keep the old databases.

I have been splitting the old databases in four during the last months. I will finish in some months more.

Sooner or later I will find the error in one memo field that complicate certain searches.

May be today....
Best Regards
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 7:11 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




i don't really know what I am doing bad.

dbtcheck.exe received the error not possible to execute.
I suppose is because the hard disk unit is the letter y: and a shared folder.
I will try with a copy inside the virtual machine.....


Note : I have inside the virtual machine several hard disk with the same structure. But I have enough space in the c: disk inside the virtual machine. I am copying the contact set there.

I will copy dbtcheck.exe to that folder and open a console in it.

I will try from the console :

DBTCHECK.EXE Contact1.dbf /B
DBTCHECK.EXE Contact2.dbf /B

I am taking screenshots to show you any incidence.

Wink

Note : the line for contact2.dbf don't proceed because there is not dbt file associated.....

Rolling Eyes

I wish to try DBFCLEAN.EXE and see....
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 8:36 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




Tras aplicar bastantes fixes con dbtcheck y con dbfclean al ejecutar goldmine me exige reindexar contact1.dbf

After apply many fixes with dbtcheck y dbfclean.exe when try to execute goldmine ask me for reindexing.

Crossing my fingers !!!!!.

Take a long time reindexing.
It's late. I will have working by night.
Best Regards
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 5:14 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




I have assumed the fixes are done.

I made a proof searching for a chain in all fields with no incidence.

I will copy the security copy for some weeks....

In the databases contact set I have two files I wish to comment :

Contact2.tmp with size 1.423.403 kb
and
tmpA.mdx size 1506 kb

Can I delete ?


Additional notes : I leave reindexing the contact1.dbf the rest of the night.
When come back a message waiting for reindex contact2.dbf

and when finish continues with some other databases reindexing

contsupp.dbf
conthist.dbf

By example the size of the contact1.dbf before and after repair was

before 1.769.982 kb
after 1.768.719 kb

Rolling Eyes
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 7:58 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




I am revising if all is right

I suspect that give administrative privileges in the execution while because of the idapi32 was not finally a good idea.
Windows 10 seems to take control over goldmine and set the compatbibility of the program and subsequent more problems....

For confirmation yet....

What is the structure am I using ?

Under windows xp in virtual machine.
I use a folder for the program in c:

The contact sets are in a shared folder y:

Under w10 home in the system :
I use a folder for the program in Y:
and the same contact set located in Y: (in another folder)

I control everything from the virtual machine. Really the program is an adapted copy from the one inside de virtual machine from time to time.
The alarms are managed from the virtual machine to evitate duplicities and so on...

I append registers only from the virtual machine.

I must mantain the DBASE ENU cp437 to see well é, á, ñ, ü and special characters.

I have made proofs with all my contact sets from inside the virtual machine and from the system.

BDEadmin is configured with the languagedrive DBase ENU cp437 in both installations.

After repairing the contact set in both installation when try reindex receive this message :



[img=http://imagizer.imageshack.com/img923/8734/L56w75.png][/img]
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 8:00 am Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




I see at the present moment the special characters correctly : ñ, á, é, etc.

What can I do ?


Perhaps I can make another security copy and try to reindex and see results.

There is another configuration file somewhere (an ini, a cfg file or something telling the language drive es DBWINES0 ?

I am doing a new security copy after the repar with dbtcheck and dbfclean.

I will comment....
View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 12:49 pm Points: 0 Reply with quote
Apache
GoldMine Journeyman
Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 26




I don't understand, but with the LD DBWINES0 goes fine.
I have changed in the BDAdmin but continue with the same message when reindexing.

The accents and ñ are not lost anycase.

The effect of execute goldmine in windows 10 seems to have a negative effect. The compatibility assistant put in difficulties the old and the new.

The feared message "Insufficient Disk space" was supered yesterday and repeat today reindexing contact2.dbf .

The patch for this error don't work in my system.
I tried so many times creating virtual occupied spaced until get reindexing....

So I will keep for a long time the security copies .
And will comment any additional incident.

Best Regards


After pass the administrative privileges windows operating system takes certain controls over goldmine. Even deleting the keys in the windows registry (goldmine, Borland, dbadmin) I continue with little problems. But are not real problems because of the limited use I do in the windows 10 system. Until detected.....


So I don't recomend anymore.
View user's profile Send private message

Can I determine a corrupt registry in the goldmine contacts?
  ContactReview Forum Index » GoldMine Legacy
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Brought to you by Castell Computers, Doug Castell, Admin
RSS Feed
Powered by phpBB © 2001-2004 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin